What Is Strangulation Law?

In Pennsylvania, a strangulation charge is very serious. If you are charged with strangulation, the penalties you might face will depend on the situation, your relationship to the alleged victim, and any other offense with which you might also be charged. People who are charged… read more

First Offense Gun Charge in PA

In Pennsylvania, it is legal for adults to openly carry firearms without having to get a permit. All citizens have a constitutional right to carry arms to defend themselves. However, not everyone in Pennsylvania is allowed to own, possess, or carry guns and may not… read more

Is PWID a Felony In PA?

While all drug charges are treated seriously in Pennsylvania, those involving sales or the intent to distribute carry more severe penalties. Possession with intent to deliver or PWID differs from simple possession offenses since the police must suspect that you intended to distribute the drugs… read more

Which Drug Carries The Highest Criminal Penalties In PA?

Pennsylvania’s controlled substances law closely tracks the U.S. Controlled Substances Act. This federal law divides regulated drugs into five schedules. The different schedules range from I, which are drugs with the highest potential for abuse and addiction with little medical benefits, to five, which include… read more

How Long Do You Go To Jail For Drug Possession in PA?

The penalties for possessing drugs in Pennsylvania will depend on whether you are charged with simple possession or possession with the intent to deliver. The types of substances and your criminal record can also impact the sentence you might receive. Pennsylvania’s drug crimes penalties are… read more

5 Things You Should Know About DUI Blood Tests in Chester County, PA

An increasing number of police departments in Pennsylvania are choosing to ask motorists to submit to blood tests when they are suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Breathalyzer tests are less reliable than blood tests, making them easier for a Chester… read more

Assault vs. Battery in Pennsylvania: What’s the Difference?

The terms assault and battery are often used together in Pennsylvania. While battery is not a separate offense in the state’s criminal law, the statutes covering simple and aggravated assaults incorporate battery. Under the state’s civil tort laws, people can be sued for civil assault… read more

What Is The Punishment For A Second DUI In Pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, there is a 10-year lookback period for prior DUI offenses. If you were convicted of a DUI within the past 10 years and are charged with a second DUI offense, the penalties you will face will be more serious. The penalties you might… read more

DUI Charges and a Professional License in Pennsylvania

Millions of Americans have occupational licenses to perform their jobs, including many people in various professions in Pennsylvania. The Commonwealth requires people in many different occupations to secure licenses, and licensed professionals are heavily regulated. Depending on your profession, a DUI could potentially result in… read more

How Will Pennsylvania Treat Your Out-Of-State DUI Conviction?

Some people in Pennsylvania have DUIs from other states, leading them to wonder how their out-of-state convictions might affect their driving privileges in the Commonwealth. Since Pennsylvania shares borders with six other states, out-of-state DUIs are fairly common issues. Many people choose to drive to… read more