DiCindio Law LLC | August 23, 2019 | License Suspension
Pennsylvania uses a point system for most moving violations. If you plead guilty to many different traffic violations, points will be added to your driving record by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.
If you accumulate six or more points, your insurance rates may go up. You may also be at risk of a license suspension. If you have received a citation for a traffic violation that carries several points, contact DiCindio Law for help.
Points for Traffic Violations
Pennsylvania’s point system is used by the state to keep track of your driving behaviors. A majority of the moving violations in the state will add points to your record. Some of the common types of traffic violations and their points include the following:
- 2 points – Failing to obey an authorized person who is directing traffic
- 2 points – Failing to comply with a restriction on your license
- 3 points – Failing to obey a traffic control device
- 3 points – Improper passing at a tunnel or bridge
- 3 points – Following too closely
- 3 points – Running a stop sign
- 3 points – Making an illegal u-turn
- 4 points – Not stopping at a railroad crossing
- 3 points – Careless driving
- 2 points – Speeding by six to 10 miles per hour above the speed limit
- 4 points – Hit and run accident with property damage
- 3 points plus a 15-day license suspension – Speeding by 11 to 15 miles per hour over the speed limit in a work zone
- 4 points plus a 15-day license suspension – Speeding by 16 to 25 miles per hour over the speed limit in a work zone
- 5 points plus a 15-day license suspension for going from 26 to 30 miles per hour in a work zone
- 5 points plus a 15-day suspension – going 31 miles per hour or over in a work zone
If you accumulate too many points, your driver’s license may be suspended.
First Time That You Accumulate Six Points
If your license reaches six accumulated points for the first time, you will be required to take a test by PennDOT. The test will cover your knowledge of safe driving, departmental penalties, and other safety issues. You must pass the test within 30 days. Your license will otherwise be suspended until you do pass the test.
If you pass it within 30 days, the state will remove two points.
Second Time Accumulating Six Points
If your points have been reduced below six points and you subsequently accumulate six points again, you will have to go to an administrative hearing. A hearing officer will look at your driving record and might recommend any of the following departmental actions:
- 15-day suspension of your license
- Special driver’s test
- No action recommended
If you have to take an exam or have your license suspended, two points will be deducted from your record once you pass the test within 30 days or once you have served your suspension. If you fail to show up for your hearing, your license will be suspended for 60 days.
Third Time Accumulating Six Points
If you accumulate 6 points for the third time after your points have been reduced, you must attend a hearing. The hearing officer will look at your record to determine whether your license should be suspended for 30 days. If you don’t show up to this hearing, your license will be suspended until you do.
Points for Excessive Speeding
If you plead guilty or are found guilty for speeding more than 31 miles above the speed limit, you will be required to attend a hearing. At your hearing, your record will be reviewed. PennDot will then issue one or both of the following sanctions:
- 15-day suspension of your license
- Special driver’s test
If your license is suspended for 15 days, you will have five points on your license after it is restored. The department will not reduce any points if you complete a special driver’s test. If you do not show up to your hearing, your license will be suspended for 60 days.
Accumulating 11 or More Points
Your license will be suspended if you accumulate 11 points. How long your suspension will last will depend on whether you have had a suspension in the past. If it is your first suspension, your suspension will be five days for each point. If it is your second suspension, your suspension will be 10 days for each point.
For a third suspension, your suspension will be 15 days for each point. Finally, for subsequent suspensions, your license will be suspended for 12 months.
For every consecutive 12-month period after you have received points in which you do not have any violations, three will be removed. When your driving record reaches zero and remains there for 12 months in a row, any future points will be treated as the first time that you have accumulated them.
What To Do If You Have Received A Aitation
When a police officer gives you a citation, check it to make sure that it is accurate. Look at your identifying information. If there are any problems, call the court to have it fixed. You will have 10 days to respond to your citation. If you fail to respond, you could be forced to pay extra fees and may have your license suspended.
When you receive a traffic citation, it is a good idea to talk to an experienced West Chester attorney at DiCindio Law to learn about your options. If you choose to pay for your ticket, you will receive points. An attorney may be able to secure an agreement for you to plead guilty to a traffic offense that carries lower fines and fewer points.
Call DiCindio Law today at 610-430-3535 to schedule a consultation so that you can learn more about how to handle your traffic ticket.
***This blog article is made available by the law firm publisher for educational purposes and to provide general information, not to provide specific legal advice. By reading, you understand that there is no attorney client relationship between you and the publisher. The above listed information does not include the entire crimes code, annotations, amendments or any recent changes that may be relevant. The information provided is for informational purposes only and may not reflect the most current legal developments. These materials are not intended, and should not be taken, as legal advice on any particular set of facts or circumstances. Please contact DiCindio Law, LLC for a consultation and to discuss what law is relevant to your case. ***